Getting Thrifty

Leave a comment

March 30, 2012 by Cloth and Ink

So I recently began working on some small pouches and bags to add to my product line at Cloth & Ink. At first they were pretty sweet and simple but I’ve decided to upgrade them by using suedes and leathers in combination with my screen printed fabrics. I hunted high and low for a good supply of suede and leather materials. I tried a couple of supply sellers on Etsy and did initially use their materials but I wasn’t 100% happy. Finally the other day I decided to take a trip to my local thrift store and find some fabric for myself.

I loved the idea of reusing existing leather products as this fits in nicely with the Cloth & Ink eco philosophy. Admittedly it means the supply is not constant but the pros out weigh the cons for now. The best thing about living in a hot climate, summer starts early and winter clothes are heavily discounted. I was amazed at my finds and the prices! I was able to purchase a suede jacket and suede skirt all for a total steal, just what my budget needed!

After rushing home I was soon busy unpicking seams, cutting pieces and sewing my new creations.

And here is a sneak peak at my new look pouches, what do you think? All they need now is their leather zipper pull and they’re ready for sale. SUCCESS!

Happy Friday everyone, have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

